RSS Feed

A Father’s Love

Posted on

A father’s heart is filled with love for his family, but he also guides, guards, and governs. This love is not a weak kind of sentimental love; it’s a powerful love that always seeks the best interests of the child. A father’s love teaches through example, but also by instruction. He is the one who brings proper disciplines, strengths, and direction to his family.

As a Child my father guided me in the ways that he believed that I should be raised. He gave me a biblical foundation to base my every decision on.

“Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it”-Proverbs 22:6

My father stuck by this, but he also used instruction with me. He laid out rules and I was expected to follow them. One day my father left me alone at home for the very first time, he trusted me. Besides the usual common sense rules like, “don’t burn the house down” or “lock the doors,” I was only given one rule. I wasn’t allowed to watch the horror movie that was on the bottom self. Of course I could have picked any movie to watch, but I made the choice to disobey. My eyes were opened to the horrors that could be found in a horror movie. I jumped at every noise and I had to keep every light on in the house. When my father came home he knew what I had done.

Although, he loves me very much he had to punish me for disobeying him. This didn’t mean he loved me any less than before.

This is the kind of love that God gives to his children.

“See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him.”- 1 John 3:1

God gave one rule to Adam and Eve, just like my father gave to me.

He created Adam in his image and then created Eve from Adam’s rib. Adam and Eve were his children, he had made them and he loved them.

God made them and gave them free will. Just like any good father does he gave them the freedom to make their own choices. However, a father doesn’t let his children run free without rules.

He gave Adam and Eve one rule in the Garden, not to eat from the tree of Knowledge of good and evil.

Adam and Eve knew exactly what God didn’t want them to do and they know the consequences of what would happen if they disobey him. Just like me, when I disobey my Father and watched the horror movie, Adam and Eve disobey God and ate from the very tree that they should have avoided.

Just like me their eyes were opened.

God being the gracious and loving Father that he is, he didn’t kill them, but he did punish them. Just like my father who punished me when I disobeyed him.

This doesn’t mean that God loved his creations any less; yes, he was disappointed in them. He wanted them to be free to love and if he took freewill from them they would not be able to love as they do.

He wants to watch us succeed in the life.

God’s heart is filled with love for his family, but he also guides, guards, and governs.

He is the perfect example of what a Father’s Love should look like!

Happy Father’s day

About britkirk

Hey Y'all! I'm a Christ Follower-Bookworm-English Major-Movie/Music loving Peculiar Treasure, Smiling and laughing my way through life. Feel free explore my blog. Comment too! I love meeting new people ! Hint Hint :)

Feel free to comment!

