RSS Feed

Author Interview: Dawn Crandall

I was very lucky to get the chance to interview Dawn Crandall Author of The Bound Heart.

(Check out my review of The Bound Heart here)

Hi, Dawn Crandall thanks so much for agreeing to this interview.

Tell us a little about yourself and your background?

I’m from a small town in northeastern Indiana, and I struggled through school, for the most part, until I was diagnosed with ADD as a junior in high school. I went on to attend college at Taylor University where I majored in Christian Education because I had just become a Christian near the end of high school as well. I met my husband at church after I’d graduated from college, and we married in 2005. Nine years later, we welcomed our first baby (in March) after years and years of trying.

When did you decide to become a writer?

Although I’ve wanted to write a book for as long as I can remember (and even had some of my characters named in college), I didn’t write anything until I began The Hesitant Heiress (book 1 of The Everstone Chronicles) a few years ago when I was in my early thirties. My husband had a huge part in this. Writing had been my secret dream, something I hadn’t even told him about. When he found out about, he encouraged me 110% to write the book of my heart, for he believed a publisher would want it before he’d read a word. I laughed at him every time he mentioned this of course!

What are your ambitions for your writing career?

Actually, I began writing in 2010 for the fun of it because I needed something to focus on besides not getting pregnant. After I figured out how to do it, and that it was so much fun, I knew I would keep doing it. The fact that my first book found a publisher was shocking, for I knew from studying the market how difficult it usually is for writers to finally get a book published traditionally. Now that it’s happening, I fully plan to write as many books as possible—it’s just going to be a little more difficult now that I have a baby I also need to focus so much of my attention on!

What genre are your books?

I write historical romantic suspense from the first person point of view of the heroine. They’re set in New England during the Gilded Age (1890s), but the characters do travel to other locations as well.

What draws you to this genre?

I really love history, but I also love the fact that the people who lived a hundred years ago were just like us now. They had the same kinds of feelings, problems, heart-issues that we have—they were just situated within another world. And I love being in that other world in history.

How much research do you do?

I think I do a lot of research, but it doesn’t usually feel like work, because I enjoy it so very much!

Do you have a special time to write or how is your day structured?

Before I got pregnant, my life was so very different! I used to take two or so full days a week and write all day long. When I got pregnant, I had a very difficult time staying awake, let alone trying to remember what I was writing about. Since my son was born seven months ago, I’ve been trying to figure out my new normal. I was already used to taking care of a baby from when I was a nanny, but writing while having a baby at home is such a difficult task! Writing used to be my absolute favorite thing to do—and now I have two favorite things: writing books and playing with my baby. J I keep my notebook around at all times to pre-write my chapters into, and I usually write them out on my iPhone.

Any tips on how to get through the dreaded writer’s block?

Looking through historical photos or watching a historically set movie usually gets my creative juices flowing again.

 Where can you see yourself in 5 years’ time?

Well, since it takes me about a year to write a book, hopefully I’ll have about four more books written! The three books of The Everstone Chronicles series that Whitaker House is publishing so closely together (August, November and February) were the only books I had written at the time of my book contract, so unlike most new authors who have a pile of already written manuscripts to fall back on and try to sell to publishers, I have to start writing something new as soon as I’m finished with The Captive Imposter (Book 3).

Which writers inspire you?

Although I write historicals from first person point of view, I do like to read a lot of third person POV (how most books are written) books. My favorite authors are Lori Benton, Jody Hedlund, Julie Klassen, Julie Lessman, Elizabeth Camden and Sarah Ladd.

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to take part in this interview.

Now, I encourage the rest of you to go get a copy of Dawn Crandall’s book, The Bound Heart, and read it! I promise you won’t be disappointed I sure wasn’t.

Happy Reading!

Interesting in connecting with Dawn Crandall?

Facebook: facebook.com/DawnCrandallWritesFirst

Book Review Blog: www.APassionforPages.blogspot.com

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/dawnwritesfirst

Twitter: @dawnwritesfirst / www.twitter.com/dawnwritesfirst

Author Website: www.dawncrandall.blogspot.com
 

About britkirk

Hey Y'all! I'm a Christ Follower-Bookworm-English Major-Movie/Music loving Peculiar Treasure, Smiling and laughing my way through life. Feel free explore my blog. Comment too! I love meeting new people ! Hint Hint :)

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for having me on your blog, Brit!! That was a really great interview!! And I’m so glad you enjoyed reading my second novel! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Feel free to comment!

