RSS Feed

Tears in the Card Aisle

Posted on

Mother’s day is fast approaching!

Sunday to be exact…So, if you haven’t gotten your mom something you better get moving.

 

I went out a couple of days ago to get my mom something; which hasn’t been an easy task in the past.

My momma has early onset Alzheimer’s disease and right now she is in the final stages of this disease.

Shopping seemed  easy enough since I figured I would just get her a T-shirt she could wear anytime and it would be special. Even if she didn’t remember it was from me or if it was Mother’s day.

That part of my shopping outing was a huge success!

However, it was the cards that was the hardest part of all…

I knew my mom would like something pretty to look at so that was my aim. She sometimes smiles at pretty cards and actually says, “That’s pretty!”

Which makes me smile because I know that I have done something to some how make my mom happen in the slightest little way.

I looked and looked at all sorts of pretty cards, but couldn’t keep myself from picking them up and reading what was printed on the inside.

The words on the inside talked about things I used to be able to do with my mom and I wished so much that they were still true.

This is when I began crying in the card aisle! I cried harder and harder at each card I picked up.

Card shopping shouldn’t be so hard to do!

There shouldn’t be so many choices!

I should have made her a card!

With my grief and frustration climbing up towards a panic attack I finally snatched up the closest card and marched toward the front of the story.

As I began to calm down I remembered one of God’s promises to us about heaven.

“He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away” (Revelation 21:4)

My mom no matter how much she can’t do or remember will one day be able to!

This has been promised to me. I feel like she will even remember everything that doesn’t even register with her these days!

She will have no more tears, pain and her disease will be no more!

 

Last Christmas we sang a song and I had a very hard time getting through it without choking up, but it was the perfect song!

The song was called No more Night. Words & music by Walt Harrah.

 

No More Night

The timeless theme, Earth and Heaven will pass away.
It’s not a dream, God will make all things new that day.
Gone is the curse from which I stumbled and fell.
Evil is banished to eternal hell.

No more night. No more pain.
No more tears. Never crying again.
And praises to the great “I AM.”
We will live in the light of the risen Lamb.

See all around, now the nations bow down to sing.
The only sound is the praises to Christ, our King.
Slowly the names from the book are read.
I know the King, so there’s no need to dread.

No more night. No more pain.
No more tears. Never crying again.
And praises to the great “I AM.”
We will live in the light of the risen Lamb.

See over there, there’s a mansion, oh, that’s prepared just for me,
Where I will live with my savior eternally.

No more night. No more pain.
No more tears. Never crying again.
And praises to the great “I AM.”
We will live in the light of the risen Lamb.

All praises to the great “I AM.”
We’re gonna live in the light of the risen Lamb.

 

This will be my momma one day!

But, until then I will do my very best to cherish the time I still have with her!

About britkirk

Hey Y'all! I'm a Christ Follower-Bookworm-English Major-Movie/Music loving Peculiar Treasure, Smiling and laughing my way through life. Feel free explore my blog. Comment too! I love meeting new people ! Hint Hint :)

4 responses »

  1. Heather McMichael

    Hi Brit. its “Miss Heather” from memorial. Gosh how you have grown up:) Loved reading the blog about your mom and yes, thank you…. I cried. I think about ya’ll all the time and the wonderful memories I have for your mom. She is a great lady. Prayer for all.

    Like

    Reply
    • Oh yes! I remember you “Miss Heather.” Anytime, I will gladly help you cry :). Or steal your teddy bear on a missions trip. we think about y’all often, Thanks so much for the prayers!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Brittany, reading your story made me cry, too! I’ve thought often about you and your mama since I found out what was going on. Please know that I pray for you and your family. I know it isn’t an easy thing to go through and I can’t imagine what you’re feeling. I think you’re right — one day she will remember it all and you both will be together again and everything will be so perfect in Heaven. I know you’ll make your mama’s day special this Sunday, no matter what!

    Like

    Reply

Feel free to comment!

